#FlashFiction: I Tried Something New

Hey friends. Thanks for the awesome support so far. I am indeed grateful. To everyone of you who have visited, read, commented and liked my posts, I am grateful.:D

Now, a friend of mine Mac wanted wants me to harness the story writing skill and I decided to give it a trial.
Truth be told, I am quite a poor writer when dealing with stories. I think I still do better with my poems.

I remember one time when Debby,wanted to check out my writing skills in 100level and we decided to do a writing competition. I can’t forget how embarrassed I was at her ceaseless laughter. Man! The writing was bad for a university student. In her words, I wrote like a primary school pupil(okay, not exactly her words).

Well, the thing is I never really grew beyond the normal “there was lived a boy” that I was taught. Since then, I never really wrote stories again. I just decided to read more and perhaps learn better techniques.

So when Mac literally forced me to write a story, I came up with a flash fiction. Its a trial. Please don’t judge too hard. I wrote my story-writing history first for a reason.😁😁😁

Okay. Here’s it.
Enjoy!🍷

Saturday mornings are always lazy. It is why I love Saturdays best. You can say that I am lazy. I can’t agree less.

It is another Saturday morning. I wake up in my routine by 7am but sleep back. This is what I usually do.

Sleeping back always reminds me of the fact that the Saturday is mine to enjoy. And I always do just that. This is owed to the fact that I work 7am to 6pm everyday of the week as the secret at of a Continental hotel on the Island.

Yes. The Island. And seeing that I live on the mainlands, you can imagine how hectic my week days usually are. Working this way is tiring.

I guess you can see now why I love Saturdays.

As I lay back to sleep today, my phone vibrates. I open up the phone to see the name- ‘Baja’ , flashing on the phone’s screen. I have just received a message from Baja.

This is scary. Baja is a guy who has been blackmailing me with the threat to reveal to my boss the fact that I was working with fake documents.
I have on two different occasions given him a hundred and fifty thousand naira as price to prevent this threat from being implemented. He has not disturbed me for about two years now.

It makes my heart beat faster to see his name flashing on my phone’s screen. I hesitate to open the message. Hard as I try,I am scared still.

I throw the phone away, wanting it to be far from me. I try to resume my freedom sleep. It is to no avail. I toss and turn and turn and toss but images of what he may have to say keeps bugging me.
It isn’t until 9pm in the evening that I decide to be brave, to be courageous and get to know the content of the message.

Making the sign of the cross, I pick up the phone, click on the message icon , shut my eyes and as I open them, my heart stops beating- “Baja is Dead”. ‘Baja is Dead’ is what I see on the screen of my phone.

Oh! What joy! The excitement that went through my veins at the sight of this message. You think is because I’ll not have him blackmailing me anymore that I am happy. No. Its also because the message indicates that the hangman who I sent after him had delivered in doing his job.

Baja is dead and now I can sleep in peace.

Tomorrow, I’ll go to church and ask for forgiveness. I’ll say confession and do my penance but today…Today ,I’ll simply fall asleep on my soft-feathered red couch as my freedom has been restored. Now I can sleep the freedom sleep, somehow hoping that Baja does not appear in my dreams

If this is your first time here, please do visit again. And I’ll indeed appreciate comments. Thanks for reading.

Zaram
xxx
😄

13 Replies to “#FlashFiction: I Tried Something New”

  1. Oh wow! Trust me, writing stories ain’t easy as some people think, it takes a whole lot of effort and thinking and this flash fiction? Is epic… keep writing even when you ain’t posting, with time you’ll be a pro 😊

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Well well. Thank you everyone. Thanks for the collective support.

      My friend, Zaram, I’m glad to be a huge part of your writing story. Biko, write fiction. Loooool. Best of all babe, write whatever you enjoy writing. If writing isn’t it, continue your graphic designs. I remember how mindlessly it comes to you;designing. It’s a gift.
      Of course I’m your number 1fan any day anytime. Most of all I love your networking, your desire to reach out and be a part. You put your work out there. You do a lot of things I don’t.

      Hope my explanations on the road to seeking forgiveness are bountiful welcomed.

      Having done that babe,as your friend, I say it’s time for you to move on to your blogging story. Your writing flash fiction is a subset of your blog, right? Now tell my role in your blogging history. Smirking.

      😙😙

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Well well. Thank you everyone. Thanks for the collective support.

    My friend, Zaram, I’m glad to be a huge part of your writing story. Biko, write fiction. Loooool. Best of all babe, write whatever you enjoy writing. If writing isn’t it, continue your graphic designs. I remember how mindlessly it comes to you;designing. It’s a gift.
    Of course I’m your number 1fan any day anytime. Most of all I love your networking, your desire to reach out and be a part. You put your work out there. You do a lot of things I don’t.

    Hope my explanations on the road to seeking forgiveness are bountiful welcomed.

    Having done that babe,as your friend, I say it’s time for you to move on to your blogging story. Your writing flash fiction is a subset of your blog, right? Now tell my role in your blogging history. Smirking.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol. Ranter! Thanks babe. I know I can always count on your support anytime. Yes!!! You played such a major part in my blogging history. Don’t worry, I’ll dedicate a post to you( one of these days). Meanwhile, stop being so proud( **sticks out tongue**)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

