Letter to my childhood

Hello lovelies! How have you all been? I’ve been a bit busy with school and a lot lazy to write. I saw this some time ago on Josephina’s blog. You can read the post Here. I decided to do one of my own.
Truth is, hard as I try, a lot of my childhood memories are lost to me. Perhaps because I grew up too soon or perhaps because I haven’t tried hard enough.

This letter reflects a bit of me…more of the outwards than the inward. I’m not one to share personal details so you won’t see any. But I hope you enjoy the here and theres of my childhood.

image

Dear Little Zaram,

This is grown up you from 2016. Yeah I know, you are so young and 2016 is so far off to envisage.

You are younger now. One day, you will grow to be where I am- Older and more experienced in life.
Right now, you have Dad and mum whom you call papa and mama. You think you love papa more because people say you are his replica, like some say- you are his “carbon copy”. You probably love him more now, because he takes you everywhere and pampers you. People say you are his “briefcase”.

You will grow up later in life to learn that you love mama and papa equally. Maybe mama even more, because she mothered you.

You love school right now, trying hard to maintain first place in class, putting little effort unlike others. You will still be that person. But your love for competing will wane because you hate to strife. You will grow to learn that what is yours will come for you. You don’t need to compete for it.

Your love for writing is still building. You prefer to read than write. That’s why the other day, you tore mama’s letter which you were told to deliver to her. You tore it and started off reading it. Mama was livid. You still read it anyways.
In the future, you will love reading. But you won’t be reading unauthorized letters and prints, things you are not permitted to.

You love to go to school. Everyday you cry, “let’s go to school papa, let’s go”. When you get to the future, you will tire of it. You will wonder why education takes so much years of our lives and considering the fact that you want to be a lecturer, you will accept your fate. You are doomed to go to school for a lifetime.

You bully your little sister now. You tease her with the idea that she is adopted. You terrorize her when she doesn’t heed your way. You will grow to be different. You will grow to learn patience, love and forgiveness. You will build strength. You will build patience. You will build a relationship with your sister, one that even the many wrongs she does will not break.

You don’t like cornflakes. You don’t like fried rice. Eba isn’t your best food either. Well, your love for these foods won’t increase. You’d still maintain your dislike for them. However, your love for oats will grow. This is because you will be overstocked with oats when you first resume in the university. It’ll become your only companion when ‘brokeness’ hits you.

You are peaceful now. They named you Peace for that reason. In the future, friends will say you are troublesome. They will call you naughty. But you will still maintain your stance that you are peaceful.

You love God. You love church. You love to act but only roles that have good characters. This love will remain. You will grow to love God all the more. You will be more involved in the church. You’ll still think you can act. But you wouldn’t have acted in the past 9years.

You love the nickname ‘Chizzy’ right now because its the name Pa Emezi, your favorite folklore teller(may his soul rest in peace) gave you. In the future, you will ask to be called Zaram. Not because you dislike Chizzy but because it has become a common nickname for every ‘Chiz’.

Your only knowledge of Yoruba right now is ‘joko daadaa’ which means sit down very well. You will grow up to know Yoruba language better because you will be sent to a boarding school in Ibadan where Yoruba speakers will tease you endlessly in their language until you are forced to learn the language. At the age I am, you won’t be able to speak it fluently because you think your accent sucks.

You will grow up pretty early, having really no childish moments. But in the future, you will begin to long for your childhood memories. You will begin to do things people call childish at random moments because to you, you are trying to live the moments of childhood that you didn’t get to have.

Little me, you will grow up to be great, beautiful and intelligent. You will be wise, mature and strong. You will love the lady you will grow to be.

So while you are at it, little Chizzy, if you can, enjoy your childhood. Everyone is reading Enid Brighton(I’m not sure I got the surname right. I’ll Google it up much later) and watching cartoons like Teletubbies and barney but you are reading books older than your age. Books meant for the married and those about to wed.

Baby, let life allow you grow in stages. Don’t be scared to live. Don’t be scared to be the child that you are. Childhood moments only come once. Enjoy! Till we meet when you are grown.

Your alter Ego,
Zaram.

I hope you enjoyed reading this. How was your childhood like? How were you as a child? Care to share??? You can write your own letter too. It helps relive the moments.

If this is your first time here, please do visit again. And I’ll indeed appreciate comments. Thanks for reading.

Zaram
xxx
😄

15 Replies to “Letter to my childhood”

  1. Hey! This is so cute. My biggest inspiration, my first role model(since I was 8), my favourite writer and playmate (you’ve grown up sha), my gist patner, my sister ,this so cool. Keep it up.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awww…. This is beautiful ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘…. It got me smiling through most of the reading. I think I’ll try writing to childhood Pelumi soon. Should be nice ๐Ÿ™‚ …. I have a few letters I have written too… Like one I wrote to my unborn child… I’ll fetch out the link and make sure I tag you too. I’ll surely visit here soon ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awwn. Thanks so much Kolade. For the nice comment as well as for pulling through with your promise. I’ll love to see your own letter as well as other letters.

      Do tag me when you share the link.
      Have a beautiful day.

      Like

  3. chukwuzaram!!!!! a very amazing piece you got there. Growing up, I may not have been grateful to have you but now I can shout it out wherever I go I GREW UP WITH A SUPERSTAR!!!!!!
    (I’ll still always call you Chizzy sha) my small sis and Bestie …๐Ÿ˜„Lil
    I’ll probably write a letter to childhood me to telling him how much of an amazing person you are(but to be more than a thorn in your flesh sha)
    Nice one sisโœŒ๐Ÿ‘Š
    -ceojon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol. Grandpa!!! Thanks for the accolades. You still are the boss. Please oh, don’t tell little ‘Yem to torment Lil Chizzy. It’ll be disastrous.๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

      Like

Leave a Reply

