Happy Birthday to my flatmate

*Singing*  Happy birthday to you…
Today, my flatmate became a year older and I’m grateful to God for His grace upon her life.
However, that’s not the main reason for this post. The main reason for this post is the surprise my flatmate got( don’t look at me, it wasn’t from me. I t was from her boyfriend!).
My flatmate- I’ll call her N, wasn’t expecting much today as she is not only broke as a result of the fact that she has not been paid at her place of work but also because her boyfriend was “supposedly” out of town ( you see now?)
Anyways, this is how the surprise went. I woke up as early as 6:35am today. I wanted to be one of the first to wash to ensure that I get space to spread my clothes. That was how I left the door ajar- on my way to fetch water outside.
On getting in, I noticed a man, with cake in hand, knocking at N’s room door. In my own mind, it was a delivery man. I was thinking, “N talk say she no get money now? Emmm, she has gone to order cake online Abi? She don hammer”.
Unknown to me, it was D, her bf. Immediately he knocked, she responded “who is that?”
He replied “D”.
The way she screamed eh…..I’m sure our neighbours in the next compound heard it.
What I saw was a show of love. What I heard from her scream was ‘a shout of joy, surprise and thankfulness’.
Ps: And may I add that D is a Yoruba boy.
You can now see why I love Yoruba boys shey?
Future husband, make sure you do this or something better for me on every of my birthday😄😄😄.
Happy birthday to you N.
God bless you everyday.
Enjoy your eventful birthday.

© Opara Chizaram Adaobi 2016

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to my flatmate

  1. D'Dream July 10, 2016 at 10:54 am Reply

    What a great relief from the Yoruba boy devil campaign, lolz.

    Liked by 1 person

    • zaram July 10, 2016 at 5:33 pm Reply

      Hehe. Abi oh. Yoruba boys aren’t all that evil.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

